Thinking Magically™ | Moving On And Being At Peace With Yourself

Sooner or later we’ve all got to let go of our past.

                                                              – Dan Brown (Deception Point)

Lately, I have had a lot of discussions with people who find themselves at what they believe to be the close of a relationship, conclusion of a job, or end of a goal. They have told themselves they are confused, lost, and indecisive. If you’re in such a place, imagine how your life would be so much better if you could just move on! What would be different about your life if you could finally reach that point where you are tired of being sad and weary of feeling like you’ve been knocked out of your own life?

To start our path out of low spirits, I’d like you to take a look at the music video for Rascal Flatts’ performance of I’m Movin’ On. It is a song written by Phillip White and D. Vincent Williams and I think it’s absolutely brilliant for what we are talking about this week!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fz1N8W8phec

Now read the glorious and healing lyrics from Messrs. White and Williams:

I’ve dealt with my ghosts and I’ve faced all my demons
Finally content with a past I regret
I’ve found you find strength in your moments of weakness
For once I’m at peace with myself
I’ve been burdened with blame, trapped in the past for too long
I’m movin’ on

I’ve lived in this place and I know all the faces
Each one is different but they’re always the same
They mean me no harm but it’s time that I face it
They’ll never allow me to change
But I never dreamed home would end up where I don’t belong
I’m movin’ on

I’m movin’ on
At last I can see life has been patiently waiting for me
And I know there’s no guarantees, but I’m not alone
There comes a time in everyone’s life
When all you can see are the years passing by
And I have made up my mind that those days are gone

I sold what I could and packed what I couldn’t
Stopped to fill up on my way out of town
I’ve loved like I should but lived like I shouldn’t
I had to lose everything to find out
Maybe forgiveness will find me somewhere down this road
I’m movin’ on

I’m movin’ on
I’m movin’ on

As a quick aside, when that song was released over 10 years ago, I had the great opportunity to actually visit with the band on their tour bus when they were here in Southern California. I told them how meaningful that song was to mes and how their performance was incredibly moving (no pun intended). Joe Don and Jay told me that the song almost didn’t make their album but when they heard the demo they couldn’t leave it off (it touched them that strongly, as well). I’m Movin’ On went on to win Song of the Year at the Academy of Country Music Awards. Obviously, the song resonates with a lot of people and that is why I offer it to you here as a kind of kickstart to movin’ on with your own life.

Now, having made the commitment that you want to feel better, there are some questions you can start asking yourself; questions that reveal weighty answers specifically designed to get you moving away from doing depressed and on to doing happy!

Ready . . .

Grab a piece of paper and a pen or use your favorite digital device and type the answers out (it’s not enough to merely think these things in your head):

Imagine that the very thing you want to move away from (a feeling, an event, a person, etc.) no longer exists. What’s different about your life now? What positive actions will you be doing without that [thing/person/event] in your life? What positive thoughts will you be entertaining?

What if you could accomplish your dreams, now what do you do?

What kind of mood would you be in if you had that choice? Describe your perfect mood in as much detail as possible. Does it have a color? Does it have a sound? Where in your body is it located?

Having answered these questions, now ask yourself, What’s different now? I’m willing to bet you are more focused or happier. Perhaps you are more motivated or more relaxed. Take a moment and realize you really do have the chance to choose how you feel.

Finally, it’s time to start living the life that has been patiently waiting for you! It’s time to start living happily ever after!

This next part of the technique is so easy to do that it’s truly hard to forget. In fact, the only thing you have to fail to remember are any negative thoughts you had when you first started reading this article. And  . . . now . . . start imagining that all those dreams you just conjured up, the person you want to be with, or the event you want to occur is about to arrive! And when whatever you wished for (that dream, that person, that event) materializes – and it will materialize – incredible pleasure and delight will be yours. That’s right, happiness is about to be dropped in your lap.

And now how do you feel? How is your mood, your determination, your choice to move on different? Use this visualization when you awake, in the middle of the day, and just before you go to sleep for seven days. It only takes a few moments and you will be well on your way to a new way of thinking and feeling and belief. You will, in no uncertain terms, have made the decision to be at peace with yourself.

Cheers to you as you start movin’ on!

If you enjoyed this, I’d be grateful if you click below to share this with others. That’s right, go ahead and help spread this information by emailing it to a friend, or sharing it on Twitter, Facebook, or Google+. Thank you!

And make sure to sign up for my blog mailing list so you get all future postings delivered directly to your inbox.

© 2012 by Scott Grossberg. All Rights Reserved. thinkingmagically.com
One thought on “Thinking Magically™ | Moving On And Being At Peace With Yourself

  1. Pingback: Review: Deception Point « Jennifer Adventures

Leave a Reply

